Saturday, August 12, 2006

59th Locarno Film Festival - The Results

59th Locarno International Film Festival - The Results....

International Competition
The official jury : Ann Hui, Edo Bertoglio, Antonio Capuano, Peter Rommel, Nobuhiro Suwa
Golden Leopard : Das Fräulein by Andreas Staka (Switzerland/Germany)
Special Jury Prize : Half Nelson by Ryan Fleck (USA)
Prize for best directing : Laurent Achard - Le Dernier des Fous (France/Switzerland)
Leopard for Best Actor : Burghart Klaussner for the film Der Mann von der Botschaft by Dito Tsintsadze (Germany)
Special Mention to Body Rice by Hugo Vieira da Silva (Portugal)
"for its challenging new cinematic expression and courageous creativity"

Filmmakers of the Present Competition
Verfolgt by Angelina Maccarone (Germany)
Special Jury Prize Cinecinema Auteur Filmmakers of the Present Competition : Chand Kilo Khorma Baraye Marassem-E Tadfin by Saman Salour (Iran)
"For bringing a profound contemporary language into Iranian cinema, blended with a strong vision of the past."
Special Jury Mention to : Tarachime by Naomi Kawase (Japan)
"For allowing us to dive into the deep and universal world of emotions"

Netpac Award (for the promotion of Asian cinema) :
Don't look back (Nae-Chungchum-Aegue-Goham) by Kim Young-Nam (South Korea)
"For the portrayal of the life of the Korean youth in a subtle and subdued way."
Bliss (Fu Sheng) by Sheng Zhimin (China)
For bravely showing the reality of the present condition of a Chinese family.

Don't look back (Nae-Chungchum-Aegue-Goham) by Kim Young-Nam (South Korea)
"For a first film made with maturity and modern cinematic language. A sincere and true film with subject matter that could affect everyone."

and many other prizes (Leopard of Best First Film, New Swiss Talent, Leopards of Tomorrow, Ecumenical Jury..... )
Locarno Website



Post a Comment

<< Home